Our Mission Print E-mail

Established in 1983 with funding support from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, CUSEC's primary mission is, "... the reduction of deaths, injuries, property damage and economic losses resulting from earthquakes in the Central United States."  CUSEC is a partnership of the federal government and the eight states most affected by earthquakes in the central United States.  Those states are: Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee.

CUSEC serves as a "coordinating hub" for the region, performing the critical role of coordinating the multi-state efforts of the central region. Its coordinating role is largely facilitative and not as the primary implementer of emergency management functions which is the responsibility of each individual state.

The CUSEC Board of Directors have identified six major goals within the Strategic Plan for the organization.  Those goals are:

Outreach goals:    
   - Multi-state planning
   - Public awareness and education
   - Mitigation
   - Research

Foundation goals:    
   - Resource development
   - Constituency building

The four outreach goals address the planning, preparation and knowledge processes. The two remaining foundation goals, resource development and constituency building, provide the organization with the structure and influence to accomplish the four outreach goals.  In April of 2001, a new Strategic Plan was released. This report includes statements outlining the major initiatives CUSEC will undertake, strategic organizational thrusts, particularly in clarifying its mission and goals, constructing its organizational vision, and addressing several critical issues.  The plan was updated in 2003. 

Click here to view the CUSEC Strategic Plan (requires Acrobat Reader).