About CUSEC Print E-mail

Established in 1983 with funding support from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, CUSEC's primary mission is, "... the reduction of deaths, injuries, property damage and economic losses resulting from earthquakes in the Central United States."  CUSEC's primary objective is to provide dynamic support to multi-state response and recovery planning, resource acquisition; public education and awareness; promotion; mitigation, and research associated with earthquake preparedness in the Central United States.  CUSEC Member States are those most vulnerable to the effects of earthquakes in the region and include Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee.

CUSEC serves as a "coordinating hub" for the region, performing the critical role of coordinating the multi-state efforts of the region. Its coordinating role is largely facilitative, and not as the primary implementer of emergency management functions, which is the responsibility of each Member State.  The CUSEC Board of Directors has identified six organizational goals within the CUSEC Strategic Plan.

Outreach goals:    
    - Multi-state planning
    - Public awareness and education
    - Mitigation
    - Research

 Foundation goals: 
    - Resource development
    - Constituency building

The four outreach goals address the planning, preparation and knowledge processes. The two remaining foundation goals, resource development and constituency building, provide the organization with the structure and influence to accomplish the four outreach goals.

Please follow the links to the left learn more about the CUSEC organization, our Members, and our Associations.